## Greater Huntsville Section Named Society of the Year

by Ken Philippart Image by Matt Statham

The Greater Huntsville Section was named the 2017 Society of the Year (SOY) by the Huntsville Association of Technical Societies (HATS). HATS is a nonprofit organization supporting Huntsville area technical and professional societies, dedicated to the advancement of science and engineering and representing over 18,000 professionals across 19 member organizations.

HATS recognizes professional excellence at an annual Professional of the Year Awards Dinner. This year's theme was "Passing the Torch." The Greater Huntsville Section was selected as SOY for its initiatives to recruit, retain and groom Young Professionals (YPs) for leadership positions within the section. Greater Huntsville also has a vigorous, innovative program focused on the needs of YPs that included conducting the first YP technical symposium, and holding regular YP mentoring brunches, socials and networking events. Past Chair Brandon Stiltner and Chair Naveen Vetcha accepted the SOY Award on behalf of the section and subsequently thanked the section's 1,200 members for a true team effort in winning the honors.



Greater Huntsville Section members (left to right) Naveen Vetcha, Kurt Polzin, Tammy Statham, Ken Philippart, Brandon Stiltner, Alan Lowrey & Lisa Philippart.

Several Greater Huntsville Section members were recognized individually during the dinner. Alan Lowrey was recognized as Greater Huntsville Section's Professional of the Year (POY), Jim Parsons was named POY for the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, and Ken Philippart was selected as the Rocket City Tau Beta Pi Alumni Chapter's POY.

In honor of the "Passing the Torch" theme, HATS instituted a new award this year, Young Professional of the Year (YPOY). Greater Huntsville Section YP Director Tammy Statham was HAT's AIAA YPOY and was also named Tau Beta Pi's YPOY, the first time that the same person had been nominated by two separate societies.

Congratulations to the Greater Huntsville Section and members on their awards.